Albasini Ruins, partially rebuilt ruins of João Albasini's former home and trading post.
The Albasini Ruins are all that remain of the Portuguese trader and elephant hunter João Albasini's former home and trading post. The ruins which date back to the mid-1800s are about 18 km north of Pretoriuskop and close to the confluence of the Phabeni Spruit and Sabie River. The historical site has toilets and an info board with information about the ruins.
The ruins were rediscovered by Harry Wolhutter around 1903, they were in a bad condition, there was a fig tree growing inside the ruins. In 1978 it was decided by the Parks Board's manager of development, Mr R.J. Immink, that it was time to give the ruins some attention. Between September 1978 and September 1979 excavations were carried out at the site to discover more information about them. Once the archaeological research was completed, they planned to rebuild the ruins based on a photograph taken by C.A. Yates who had accompanied Wolhutter on his first visit to the ruins. What you see at the site today are the rebuilt ruins.